Buddy and Fizz – Whippets

Will only be homed together.

Fizz, Brindle Bitch approx. 7 ½ years old.

Buddy, Fawn Dog, approx. 4 ½ years old.

We bought Fizz as a puppy, about 10 weeks old. She lived with her mum in a static caravan in the middle of a boggy field. She had never been in a house before and we think she was bred to be a working whippet, not a family pet.

She came to us full of worms, flea ridden and unvaccinated and not even close to being house trained.

She is fully house trained now, spayed and attends the vets with Buddy for an annual booster, wormers and flea control.

Fizz was spayed after her first season.

He is fully house trained, but owners need to be aware you only get one or two barks from him to say he needs to go out.

Buddy was neutered before he was 12 months old.

Both dogs are feed dry food, we currently use Wellness Core, and their routine is quite fixed. Breakfast at 06:30, Dinner at about 15:30. No snacking in-between, unless it was found on a counter in the kitchen, which seems to be fair game.

Both are fair weather dogs, Buddy a lot more so than Fizz, who will brave gently rain and wind, whilst Buddy prefers the fire place as you can see.

They have reasonable recall, so on long walks, I keep my eye out for other dogs, especially if the other dog is on a lead. If off the lead, Buddy and Fizz will charge towards the other dog to say hello in an overly friendly manner, which can sometimes be misinterpreted by the other dog and or owner.

Big dogs off the lead are completely fair game and they all enjoy a good natured run around.

We have a cat that visits out garden, and they have given chase, but bark before they set off, so the cat has plenty of time to get out of the way. Unfortunately, this means I don’t know how they would react to a cat if they ever cornered one outside.

They do like to chase pigeons, blackbirds, magpies, etc. But again, due to their barking at the start of the chase, the other animal has sensibly left the scene.

We leave them during the week for about 3 ½ hours in the morning, Mon-Fri

And about 3 hours in the afternoon Mon-Thurs.

They sleep in the kitchen in a shared dog bed with loads of warm blankets and a single duvet, which they like to be covered by.

They have not been crated and haven’t done long distance car journeys, just short hops to the park, vets or boarding kennels, so if their new owners travel a lot, this would have to be gradually introduced to them.

They are both microchipped and fully vaccinated until December 2018.

Due flea treatment in spring,

They would suit a home with children, they love to play in the garden and will chase and fetch balls etc. But equally suited to a quiet life with people who can spend the time to walk and exercise them as they deserve.

I suspect a fireplace is a must have in winter and in summer a sunny window seems to be a favourite sleeping area.

Currently in West Yorkshire.

See some pictures...

View the Adoption Form